Menu

Attractions in Dorsoduro area, Venice

Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute

On October 22, 1630, the government of the Serenissima Republic decided to build a votive temple dedicated to the Virgin Mary to celebrate the end of the Plague which had decimated more than a third of the Venetian population. The site chosen was one of the most prestigious.

Read more...

Ca' Rezzonico

Ca' Rezzonico is a magnificent palace on the Grand Canal in Venice. Today is dedicated to the 18th century Venice Museum where you can see works of art made by great masters. It was built by Baldassarre Longhena since 1649 commissioned by the noble family Bon. Today the museum is called the Pinacoteca Egidio Martini.

Read more...

Campo Santa Margherita

Campo Santa Margherita ranks among one of the favourite recreational areas of both locals and visitors. This wide green area occupies part of the predominantly residential Venetian district Dorsoduro. Massive oaks, thick shrubs, romantic ponds and a striking variety of trees and beautiful flowers enchant visitors and make Campo Santa Margerita the perfect place for a family picnic.

Read more...

Gallerie dell'Accademia

The Gallerie dell'Accademia is the main museum of Venice, which contains the best collection of Venetian art, especially related to the paintings of the period from the 14th century to the 18th century. The rich collection of paintings is represented by artists such as Giorgione, Giovanni Bellini, Carpaccio, Veronese, Tintoretto and Titian.

Read more...

Peggy Guggenheim Museum

The Peggy Guggenheim Museum offers a personal collection of modern art collected by Peggy Guggenheim. Peggy was an American married to modern artist Max Ernst, and funded a number of his contemporaries. The gallery includes a sculpture garden and works by Picasso, Kandinsky, Tanguy, Duchamp, Pollock, Dali, and Mondrian.

Read more...

Ponte dell'Accademia

The Ponte dell'Accademia is one of only four bridges in Venice to span the Grand Canal. It crosses near the southern end of the canal, and is named for the Accademia galleries. First suggested as early as 1488, a bridge was not constructed until 1854. The original steel structure, designed by Alfred Neville, was demolished and replaced by a wooden bridge in the 1930s, despite widespread hopes for a stone bridge.

Read more...
Subscribe to this RSS feed