Around the base of the Campanile of St. Mark a building has been erected, which is called the Loggetta; it is a work by Sansovino, and was added in the year 1540.
Venice-Travel-Guide is a tourism guide with articles and information on Venice, Italy. Your source for travel news, photos, travel advice for vacations, travel deals, discount travel packages, and travel guides including information on popular Venice attractions. This site gives you the best travel content online for travel, tourism and vacation planning.
Search for tourist attractions below, and read more about all the exciting things to do in Venice. Click on the attraction to get more tourist information. If your time in Venice is limited, see our list of top 10 tourist attractions in Venice.
In this section you will find information about main tourist attractions of Venice historical center: top tourist places to visit, historic sites, gardens and parks, visitor attractions, advices for sightseeing, pictures, highlights, most popular photos, details of all sights and landmarks and things to do; definitely the best tourism and travel guide in Venice.
The Palazzo Ducale is a gothic palace that was the residence of the Doge of Venice. Its two most visible façades look towards the Venetian Lagoon and St Mark's Square, or rather the Piazzetta. The Palace is the very symbol of Venice, in St. Mark’s Square, near to the famous Ponte dei Sospiri. Inside, works by great masters as Tintoretto, Veronese, etc.
Piazza San Marco consists of an artistic complex of buildings in different styles that over time have created a harmonious setting to the square. Piazza San Marco, the heart of Venice, is trapezoidal, and the Procuratie Vecchie and Procuratie Nuove run along the two extensive sides. They are known as old ('vecchie') and new ('nuove') on the basis of the age of the buildings over the arcades of the ground-level porticoes. The monumental Piazza San Marco is composed of three areas: the Piazza itself, the area enclosed between the Procuratie Vecchie and Nuove and the Basilica; the Piazzetta, in front of Palazzo Ducale and the Library; and the Piazzetta dei Leoncini, overlooking the Patriarchal Palace, so named for two statues of lions delimiting the central area elevated.
The Canal Grande is the main channel of Venice. Along 3800 meters (width from 30 to 70 m, average depth of 5 m), divided into two parts the old town by drawing an "S" that goes from the Ponte della Libertà to the Bacino di San Marco. Public transport is provided by vaporetti and water taxis, and many tourists ride the canal by gondola. It is flanked along the length by magnificent buildings of the centuries twelfth to eighteenth, which manifest the welfare and art created by the Republic of Venice, making it one of the symbols of the city. Every year the Venetians live on old traditions such as the Regata Storica of Venice.
The Ponte di Rialto is one of four bridges, in addition to the Accademia Bridge, the Ponte degli Scalzi and Constitution Bridge, crossing the Grand Canal in Venice. Of the four, the Rialto Bridge is the oldest, the most famous and one of the architectural icons of Venice. The Rialto Bridge is an arched stone bridge lined with arcades on each side, under the arcades are many shops. The bridge was designed by Antonio da Ponte in 1591. The project was considered by some people too daring from the engineering point of view, even according the architect Vincenzo Scamozzi the bridge would have collapsed.
The Ca' d'Oro is a palace on the Grand Canal, one of the older palaces in the Venice. It is currently used as an art museum, the Galleria Giorgio Franchetti. The name Golden House derives from the fact that in the past some parts of the facade were covered with gold. The palace was built for the Contarini family between 1428 and 1430. Internally the building has a C-shaped plant which is built around an open courtyard, in the center of which is placed a large marble well. The gallery houses a collection of works of art collected by Baron Giorgio Franchetti in his life. Among the most valuable works include the St. Sebastian by Andrea Mantegna, the Pietà with two angels by Marco Palmezzano, Venus in front of the mirror and Judith of Titian, vedute of Francesco Guardi, the Sleeping Venus by Paris Bordone and large portions of the frescoes Giorgione, from the facade of the Fondaco dei Tedeschi. The Vittore Carpaccio there are three canvases with the Stories of the Virgin.
The Scuola Grande di San Rocco is a magnificent edifice, devoted to the use of one of the greatest schools or fraternities of Venice, is truly rich and extraordinary, and one can scarcely conceive how an association of almost one hundred private citizens, could lavish so much wealth in erecting, not a mere dwelling, but a perfect museum of the fine arts, in order to unite themselves together in a religious fraternity. This majestic and noble structure is adorned both within and without, with columns, cornices, carved work and figures remarkable both for design and execution.
The Basilica di Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari, usually just called the Frari, is one of the main churches in Venice. The imposing brick edifice is built in Italian Gothic style. The bell tower, finished in 1396, is one of the highest in the city. The church has so many Renaissance masterpieces that it is rightly felt to be one of the most import Renaissance "museums" in the city. Some of them are the Assumption and the Pesaro altar-piece by Titan, the Madonna and Saints by Giovanni Bellini, the St John the Baptist by Donatello and the Monument to Canova.
The Campo dei Santi Giovanni e Paolo is one of the largest squares of Venice, located in the Castello district, on the edge of Cannaregio. At the center of the campo, on a base of colored marble, there is the equestrian statue of Bartolomeo Colleoni by Verrocchio. The impressive Santi Giovanni e Paolo church (San Zanipolo in Venetian dialect) closes the angle at the Scuola Grande di San Marco, a Renaissance building today the hospital of the city, which is also developed along the fondamenta del rio Mendicanti.
In 1630 the government of the Serenissima Republic decided to build a votive temple dedicated to the Virgin Mary to celebrate the end of the Plague which had decimated more than a third of the Venetian population, the Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute. Of the eleven projects presented, Baldassare Longhena's was considered the best. The church was given an octagonal form and raised almost theatrically onto a sort of platform preceded by a series of steps. The construction, externally punctuated by the prospects of the six chapels, is dominated by a large cupola, surrounded by a flock of angels. The church is used each year for a procession during the Feast of the Salute, which is still one of the Venetians' favourite events. Here you will find the a marvellous Byzantine icon, a polychrome marble floor and many paintings by Titian, Tintoretto and Luca Giordano.
The Gallerie dell'Accademia is the main museum of Venice, which contains the best collection of Venetian art, especially related to the paintings of the period from the 14th century to the 18th century. The rich collection of paintings is represented by artists such as Giorgione, Giovanni Bellini, Carpaccio, Veronese, Tintoretto and Titian. There are also preserved other forms of art such as sculptures and drawings, including the famous Uomo vitruviano by Leonardo da Vinci (shown only on special occasions). The Accademia Galleries are located in the Dorsoduro district, at the foot of the Ponte dell'Accademia, in what was until the early nineteenth century, the vast complex of the church of Santa Maria della Carità, the Monastery built by Palladio and the Scuola Grande di Santa Maria della Carità. They take their name from the Accademia di Belle Arti (Fine Arts Academy) opened in 1817 and they shared the complex until 2004.
Murano is an island in the Venetian Lagoon, located north-east of Venice, composed of seven smaller islands, is known around the world for the craft of glassmaking. Murano is home to the Museo Vetrario or Glass Museum in the Palazzo Giustinian, which holds displays on the history of glassmaking as well as glass samples ranging from Egyptian times through the present day. Burano is an island known for its typical brightly colored houses, but also for the centuries-old lace work and gastronomic traditions.
The Museo Correr is the civic museum located in the Piazza San Marco, facing the basilica of St. Mark that it partially occupies, and is entered by way of the Napoleonic wing of the bureaucratic buildings, or Procuratie, framing three-quarters of the piazza. The museum offers a fascinating insight into the art and history of Venice.
The St Mark's Clock tower is an early renaissance building on the north side of the Piazza San Marco at the entrance to the Merceria. It comprises a tower, which contains the clock, and lower buildings on each side. Both the tower and the clock date from the 15th century, though the mechanism of the clock has been altered.
Ca' Rezzonico is a magnificent palace on the Grand Canal in Venice. Today is dedicated to the 18th century Venice Museum where you can see works of art made by great masters. It was built by Baldassarre Longhena since 1649 commissioned by the noble family Bon. Today the museum is called the Pinacoteca Egidio Martini.
Ca' Pesaro is a International Gallery of Modern Art. The museum contains important nineteenth- and twentieth-century collections of paintings and sculptures, including masterpieces by Klimt, Chagall, Kandinsky, Klee, Matisse and Moore, as well as a rich selection of works by Italian artists and an important section of graphic art.
The Peggy Guggenheim Museum offers a personal collection of modern art collected by Peggy Guggenheim. Peggy was an American married to modern artist Max Ernst, and funded a number of his contemporaries. The gallery includes a sculpture garden and works by Picasso, Kandinsky, Tanguy, Duchamp, Pollock, Dali, and Mondrian.
The Scuola Grande di San Rocco is a magnificent edifice, devoted to the use of one of the greatest schools or fraternities of Venice, is truly rich and extraordinary, and one can scarcely conceive how an association of almost one hundred private citizens, could lavish so much wealth in erecting a perfect museum of the fine arts.
Teatro La Fenice is the opera house in Venice. It is one of the most famous theatres in Europe, the site of many famous operatic premieres. Its name reflects its role in permitting an opera company to "rise from the ashes" despite losing the use of two theatres. Since opening and being named La Fenice, it has burned and been rebuilt twice more.
The Gallerie dell'Accademia is the main museum of Venice, which contains the best collection of Venetian art, especially related to the paintings of the period from the 14th century to the 18th century. The rich collection of paintings is represented by artists such as Giorgione, Giovanni Bellini, Carpaccio, Veronese, Tintoretto and Titian.
In the Fondazione Querini Stampalia with its eighteenth century and neoclassical furniture, porcelain, bisque, sculpture, globes and paintings from the 14th to the 20th century, most of which are from the Venetian school, an atmosphere of a noble residence is bestowed by mirrors and lamps of Murano glass and fabrics woven to historical designs.
Palazzo Mocenigo is the seat of the Museum and Study Centre of the History of Fabrics and Costumes: it contains the rich collections of ancient textiles and costumes mostly from the Correr, Guggenheim and Cini collections and the suppressed Centre of Palazzo Grassi. Also contains a library specialising in the history of costumes.
Ca' Vendramin Calergi is a palace on the Grand Canal in the sestiere di Cannaregio. The architecturally distinguished building was the home of many prominent people through history, and is remembered as the place where composer Richard Wagner died. Currently, it is home to the Venice Casino and the Wagner Museum.
Ca' Vendramin Calergi is a palace on the Grand Canal that is remembered as the place where composer Richard Wagner died. Wagner died of a heart attack in the palace on 13 February 1883 at age 69. Currently, it is home to the Venice Casino and the Wagner Museum. The museum is open to the public on Saturday mornings by appointment.
In 1509 the 'ghetto' is the part of the city that was reserved for the Jews. They built their synagogues here, the first one was the German Synagogue. It was followed by the Schola Canton, the Schola Italiana and the Schola Spagnola. The German synagogue houses the museum of Jewish art and contains many fine religious exhibits.
The Glass Museum is located in Murano, an island of the Venetian Lagoon, famous in the world for the art of glass. The collection is laid out chronologically on the first floor of the museum. Starting from an archaeological section on the ground floor, which contains noteworthy Roman works, it follows to the largest historical collection of Murano glass.
Ca' d'Oro or Palazzo Santa Sofia is regarded as one of the most beautiful palaces on the Grand Canal in Venice. One of the older palaces, it has always been known as Ca' d'Oro due to the gilt and polychrome external decorations which once adorned its walls.
The Scuola di San Giorgio degli Schiavoni can be found in the district of Castello near the Bridge della Commenda at the beginning of the Calle dei Furlani. It was one of the occupational and devotional schools of Venice and is today an art gallery.
The Basilica di San Marco is the most famous of the city's churches and one of the best known examples of Byzantine architecture. It lies at the eastern end of the Piazza San Marco, adjacent and connected to the Doge's Palace. Originally it was the chapel of the Doge.
The Church of San Moisè in Venice is dedicated to Moses, like the Byzantines, the Venetians tended to canonise Old Testament prophets. It also honours Moisè Venier, who paid for it to be rebuilt in the 9th century. The elaborate Baroque facade is covered in carvings.
The Church of Saint Roch is a Roman Catholic church dedicated to Saint Roch in Venice. It was built between 1489 and 1508 by Bartolomeo Bon the Younger, but was substantially altered in 1725. The façade dates from 1765 to 1771. The church is one of the Plague-churches built in Venice.
The Basilica di Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari, usually just called the Frari, is one of the main churches in Venice. The imposing brick edifice is built in Italian Gothic style. The bell tower, finished in 1396, is one of the highest in the city. The church has many Renaissance masterpieces.