San Giovanni in Bragora is a church in Venice, Italy, located in the sestiere of Castello, it was founded in the early 8th century, allegedly by St. Magnus of Oderzo; in the following century, under doge Pietro III Candiano, it was rebuilt to house the alleged relics of St. John the Baptist.
Pietro Barbo, future Pope Paul II, and Antonio Vivaldi were baptised in the church.
The current appearance dates from the last renovation (1475-1505), which kept the basilica plan but added a brickwork façade in local late-Gothic style, and a façade divided into three sections.
The interior houses works by Cima da Conegliano and Alvise Vivarini and has a trussed ceiling.
The origin of the term Bragora is unclear. It could derive from the Greek agorà (square), referring to the campo facing the church, or from the dialect bragora ("market") or bragolare ("fishing").
It is the church where Antonio Vivaldi was baptised in 1641. It is thought his family lived close to the church at the time.