The Ponte degli Scalzi (or Ponte dei Scalzi), literally, "bridge of the barefoot [monks]", is one of only four bridges in Venice to span the Grand Canal. The bridge connects the sestieri of Santa Croce and Cannaregio. On the north side, Cannaregio, are the Chiesa degli Scalzi (Church of the Barefoot or Discalced Monks) and the Santa Lucia (Ferrovia) railway station. The south side, Santa Croce, is close to the bus station Piazzale Roma.
It was designed by Eugenio Miozzi and concluded in 1934, as a replacement for an Austrian iron bridge. Old Austrian bridge, on this part of Gran Canal, represented an age that was finishing. In this period of deep transformation, project by engineer Eugenio Miozzi (1931-2) was chosen to subsitute the rectilinear iron bridge (all the iron bridges in Venice had been built by Austrians). This bridge clearly borrows the main characteristics of Rialto bridge except for the shop lines, here absentees: one arch and made with white stone.
At the foot of the Ponte degli Scalzi is the fine baroque facade of the Scalzi church, recently restored.
Map of Scalzi Bridge
It connects the "Sestieri" of Santa Croce with Cannaregio. North of Cannaregio, there are the Chiesa degli Scalzi and the railway station. On the South, in Santa Croce, there is the bus station Piazzale Roma.